SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.36 issue2Markers of plasmid resistance to qnr quinolones in clinical isolates of CTX-M beta-lactamases-producing enterobacteria in Lima, PeruEvaluation of methods of concentration and purification of Giardia spp. from coprological samples author indexsubject indexarticles search
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand




  • Have no cited articlesCited by SciELO

Related links

  • Have no similar articlesSimilars in SciELO


Revista Peruana de Medicina Experimental y Salud Publica

Print version ISSN 1726-4634


GUZMAN, Jesús; CASTILLO, Denis; OJEDA, Manuel  and  SAUVAIN, Michel. Antimicrobial susceptibility and mutations in the 23S rRNA gen of Helicobacter pylori in dyspeptic patients. Rev. perú. med. exp. salud publica [online]. 2019, vol.36, n.2, pp.270-274. ISSN 1726-4634.

In order to evaluate antimicrobial susceptibility and detect specific mutations in the 23S rRNA gene in Helicobacter pylori strains, a cross-sectional study was performed on 95 patients with dyspepsia treated in a private clinic in Lima. Antrum biopsies were collected by endoscopy for isolation and evaluation of antimicrobial susceptibility using the broth microdilution method. The detection of specific mutations was developed by PCR-RFLP. The percentage of infection by Helicobacter pylori was 46.3%. Resistance values of 52.3% to clarithromycin, 29.6% to metronidazole, 45.5% to levofloxacin, and 4.6% to amoxicillin were observed. The percentage of specific A2142G and A2143G mutations associated with clarithromycin resistance was 43.5%. In conclusion, we found that antimicrobial resistance rates and the percentage of Helicobacter pylori strains circulating in a private clinic in Lima were high.

Keywords : Helicobacter infections; Clarithromycin; Microbial sensitivity tests; Microbial drug resistance; Peru.

        · abstract in Spanish     · text in Spanish     · Spanish ( pdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License