SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.80 issue4Mesoporous 1D TiO2 nanostructures obtained by the hydrothermal methodDetermination of thymol and carvacrol on oregano leaves via HPLC FL author indexsubject indexarticles search
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand




  • Have no cited articlesCited by SciELO

Related links

  • Have no similar articlesSimilars in SciELO


Revista de la Sociedad Química del Perú

Print version ISSN 1810-634X


PICASSO, Gino et al. Preparation of catalyst based on Ce-Pr for combustion of n-hexane. Rev. Soc. Quím. Perú [online]. 2014, vol.80, n.4, pp.270-278. ISSN 1810-634X.

Catalysts based on Ce-Pr mixed oxides, CexPr1-xO2, were prepared by coprecipitation (x ranged from 0,1 to 0,9) for combustion of n-hexane. For comparison purposes, the pure simple oxides were also prepared. Catalysts were characterized by sorption of N2 and X-ray diffraction (XRD). The analysis of adsorption isotherms of catalysts showed profiles of type IV, with specific surfaces ranging from 9,1 to 62,3 m2/g, with the prevalence of mesoporosity. The X-ray diffractogram patterns for pure and mixed oxide catalysts show the majority presence of stable fluorite phase. The introduction of Pr in mixed oxide composition maintains the crystal structure of fluorite-like type. The catalytic tests were carried out in a fixed bed reactor with a starting concentration of n-hexane of 2000 ppm and weight hourly space velocity (WHSV) of 80 h-1. The total combustion temperatures for mixed oxides catalysts were in the range of 356 to 437 °C. The Ce0.9Pr0.1O2 oxide showed higher specific rate (evaluated per hour, gram of catalyst considering the specific surface) than the other mixed oxides and pure simple oxides as a result of a higher value of surface area obtained.

Keywords : mixed oxides; Ce-Pr; removal of n-hexane.

        · abstract in Spanish     · text in Spanish     · Spanish ( pdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License